KARLIE KLOSS SHARES HOW TO WORK OUT WHILE TRAVELING ON ELLE

On location for her ELLE shoot, Karlie Kloss glides through a series of uncomplicated but hypnotic poses: cradling a medicine ball, tensing a jump rope, holding a deep plié. It’s the Kloss factor in full effect: This combination of strength, muscularity, and easy grace is a big part of her brand, and fashion reveres her for the way she moves on set and on the runway. She’s lean, but she’s no wimpy waif—which is why she’s a fitness icon. With close to a million Instagram followers, the classically trained ballet dancer’s feed is peppered with #fitspo pictures: Karlie underwater for a morning swim; Karlie’s neon hand weights flanked by her Nike Flyknit–clad feet. In a new relationship with the brand, the kinetic 21-year-old model is not just a face—or a body—but an athlete. “I like to constantly be in motion, whether that’s taking a bike ride around the city or working with a trainer and feeling like I’m going to collapse,” Kloss says. “When you’re dripped in sweat, you feel like you can think clearly. You feel stronger.”

Who do you follow on social media?
I’m into anyone who posts beautiful photos of delicious meals and recipes. I’m a big fan of @momomilkbar and @jamieoliver.

If you had to edit your phone down to three apps, which would make the cut?
I live on Instagram. I feel like I check it more than my e-mail. I like Uber and Nike Training Club, a program that’s a lot more convenient than a personal trainer.

How do you fit in workouts when you’re traveling?
I bring two or three-pound ankle weights and resistance bands. Sometimes I get a better workout staying in my room and forcing myself to do half an hour or even 15 minutes versus going to the gym. Before I leave for work, I try to do something. It helps me feel better for the rest of the day.

Do you have any special rituals for keeping your skin clear?
I get breakouts when I wear makeup to exercise, so I clean my face before and after I work out. I also use Bioré Deep Cleansing Pore Strips. I’m always shocked and horrified at all the junk in my pores.

What are your beauty staples?
I have a whole second bedroom filled with products, but I stick to the things that work. I like Living Proof shampoo and conditioner. They make my hair bounce in a different way. I like products that streamline my morning routine. Sunday Riley has a really good foundation: It’s very velvety. The Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer is good. I love RMS Beauty “Un” Cover-Up for under the eyes or on a blemish.

Have you picked up any tips from makeup artists backstage?
My lips are sort of red, so sometimes I wear a bit of concealer to tone down the color. I’ve seen Pat McGrath do it for so many years. But if I’m doing a lip, there’s this new company that I love called Bite Beauty. I think you can eat their lipsticks! If you can eat it, then it’s probably okay to put on your skin.

Leave a Reply

